The 6 Stages of Fasting and Their Amazing Benefits

2 min read
The 6 Stages of Fasting and Their Amazing Benefits
Photo by Jared Rice / Unsplash

Fasting has been practiced for centuries, but only recently it has gained popularity as a way to improve health and promote longevity. There are different types of fasting, but one of the most common is intermittent fasting, where you alternate between periods of eating and fasting.

In this article, we will discuss the six stages of fasting and their amazing benefits. Let's dive in.

Stage 1: 8-14 Hours

In the first stage of fasting, your blood sugar starts to stabilize, and your body begins to use up the stored sugar called glycogen. At around the 10th hour, your muscles start to use both glucose and fat for energy, which marks the beginning of the transition from sugar burning to fat burning.

Stage 2: 14-24 Hours

During this stage, the liver starts to turn your fat into ketones, and your cravings start to decrease. You'll notice an increase in energy and improvements in your mood, cognitive function, focus, memory, and concentration.

Stage 3: 24-36 Hours

This stage is where you enter a full ketosis state, and your body starts to burn fat for energy. Your appetite will decrease, and you'll experience a drop in ghrelin hormone, which is why you'll feel less hungry. You'll also experience a spike in brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF), which promotes the growth of new brain cells.

Stage 4: 36-48 Hours

At this point, you'll experience serious autophagy, a process where your body recycles old and damaged proteins, microbes, and other waste into new proteins, fuel, and replacement parts. Autophagy helps your body become more efficient and repairs any damage that has occurred. Additionally, autophagy kills cancer cells and decreases oxidative stress and misfolding proteins, which can lead to chronic inflammation and diseases like Alzheimer's.

Stage 5: 48-60 Hours

During this stage, your insulin sensitivity improves, and you experience more autophagy, less inflammation, and healing from atrophy. Your body is also able to protect your muscles from being used as fuel, and the old, damaged proteins that were recycled in stage four are converted into new proteins to help heal atrophy.

Stage 6: 60-72 Hours

In the final stage of fasting, your immune system experiences regeneration and rejuvenation. A 72-hour fast has been shown to lead to a near-complete rejuvenation of the immune system, and people undergoing chemotherapy experience less damage. Your body produces more undifferentiated immune stem cells, which can help in the production of new immune cells.


The benefits of fasting are incredible, and these six stages show just how amazing the process can be. Fasting helps your body become more efficient, improves cognitive function, decreases inflammation, and promotes longevity. Additionally, fasting can help with weight loss and managing chronic diseases like diabetes and heart disease.

Harduex blog